A place in the sun

NOT just another WordPress.com weblog

What’s wrong with this picture? October 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sunnia @ 5:05 am

Okay, let me preface this by saying that there will be no picture with this post. I don’t have my camera with me… (Yeah I know, I’m slipping! Especially since I now have a shiny new one…)

So let me describe what I see. I am on the rooftop level of the Bridge Cafe, a local spot here in Wudaokou (my little uni neighborhood in BJ). It’s a fabulous little place, and on this gorgeous day the place is packed. Coffee is good, huge selection of food, and you shoulda seen my face/eyes when the waiter brought out the slice f apple pie that girl at the next table ordered…

So there are 17 people sitting at 7 tables…there’s actually one empty table left (but it has no chairs). The groups range from 2 small to 6 large. (Loner me doesn’t count cuz I am the solo cool blogger…taking a break from grading papers.) Add to the 17 people 9 laptop computers. (I didn’t include mine.) What’s crazy to me is that everyone other than me is sitting with other people. Folks are socializing with computers between them! And no, these are not random folks they met at the cafe…they arrive together, or so it appears.

What gives? Has this always been a part of cafe culture and I just never noticed? Why the computers if we’re coming to chat with friends?  

Will try to remember a camera next time…

 

3 Responses to “What’s wrong with this picture?”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    hahha! It’s only a matter of time before they’re chatting on iphones…

  2. kenwats Says:

    Thanks for keeping me in your Pilates!
    Yeah, I see that ALL the TIME now; people chatting to each other from across the table. It’s funny!

  3. judyrutrider Says:

    I can tell I’m old because I think it’s rude to talk on the phone or chat online when you’re with someone.  It’s like saying that the person you’re with isn’t as interesting as everyone else is.  I’m probably just jealous because nobody ever calls me.


Leave a comment